Electrical - adding AC wiring to 12 volt system - Page 3 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2013, 05:59 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Posts: 400
Registry
Sorry to be a bother.. Are there shallow outlet boxes ? Or outlet boxes with tabs that can be recessed in a wall with no studs?
__________________

Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:02 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Posts: 400
Registry
Got it Tom. I think we are using 12 gauge stranded wire. Shouldn't that support 10 amp breakers?
__________________

Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:02 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Thomas G.'s Avatar
 
Name: Kinga DeRode
Trailer: For Sale Or Rent
Rooms to Let 50 Cents
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat futrell View Post
Sorry to be a bother.. Are there shallow outlet boxes ? Or outlet boxes with tabs that can be recessed in a wall with no studs?

Yes, two basic kinds of boxes. One for new construction which generally attach to a stud and ones for retrofitting that grab the drywall (or whatever) around the box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat futrell View Post
Got it Tom. I think we are using 12 gauge stranded wire. Shouldn't that support 10 amp breakers?
Yes, plenty robust.
__________________
UHaul and Burro owners, join the UHaul Campers on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/529276933859491/
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:12 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Posts: 400
Registry
Is there supposed to be some sort of breaker or device that restricts the power coming in through the shore line? To prevent a surge from taking out our system?
Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:46 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Thomas G.'s Avatar
 
Name: Kinga DeRode
Trailer: For Sale Or Rent
Rooms to Let 50 Cents
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat futrell View Post
Is there supposed to be some sort of breaker or device that restricts the power coming in through the shore line? To prevent a surge from taking out our system?
There is a breaker that protects the outlet that you plug the trailer into (at the park or at your house). This breaker protects the extension cord if it is shorted.

This device is generally just a simple circuit breaker, and it does not prevent voltage surges. There are surge suppressors that do that and this has been discussed here several times.

http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/m...ppressor&sa=Go
__________________
UHaul and Burro owners, join the UHaul Campers on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/529276933859491/
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:53 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Joe MacDonald's Avatar
 
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Posts: 753
You should have a main breaker rated At whatever your power cord is rated for. Then each of your other breakers are fed from that one. In my Trillium I have a 15 amp main and my 6 circuits are also all 15amp breakers
__________________
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:59 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Joe MacDonald's Avatar
 
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Posts: 753
The reason for this is that if you used an adapter system to go from a 50 amp plug down to a 30 amp plug on your trailer the available current if something shorts out is more than what your cord is rated for. By adding the first breaker at what your cord is rated for the potential overload is avoided, or lowered to an acceptable (in my eyes) level
__________________
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 08:13 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Posts: 400
Registry
Thanks Joe.
Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 10:29 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
honda03842's Avatar
 
Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Posts: 7,300
Cat,

In most places I used plastic or metal electrical boxes. In the ends of the dinette I cut a hole and just installed an outlet, mounting the outlet with screws and than wrapped the screw area on the sides with electrical tape.



Attachment 63169



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130811_112803.png
Views:	5
Size:	248.8 KB
ID:	63170
Attached Thumbnails
ForumRunner_20130811_112901.png  
__________________
Norm and Ginny

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 10:49 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Posts: 400
Registry
Norm and Ginny,
How do you attach the box to the back side of the outlet?
Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:01 AM   #39
Junior Member
 
Name: terina
Trailer: amerigo
California
Posts: 3
as a first timer (1973 amerigo), i am sooooo excited to see the amazing amount of support that is offered by the members here! kudos to all including Cat for inquiring!

terina
__________________
tda513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:02 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Thomas G.'s Avatar
 
Name: Kinga DeRode
Trailer: For Sale Or Rent
Rooms to Let 50 Cents
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat futrell View Post
Norm and Ginny,
How do you attach the box to the back side of the outlet?
It appears that in this particular installation no box was used. Generally you want to have all 110 volt electrical connections inside a box.
__________________
UHaul and Burro owners, join the UHaul Campers on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/529276933859491/
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:03 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
honda03842's Avatar
 
Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Posts: 7,300
Joe I'll take the one in our picture apart to show more detail, off to a party now. I did not use a box for the four boxes mounted in fiberglass. Scamp does use boxes. They rivet their's. I simply,cut a hole, wired the outlet, wrapped the outlet in electrical tape and screwed it to the fiberglass. Outlets that can't be seen like for the ater heater, convertor and fridge all have traditional plastic outlet boxes.
__________________
Norm and Ginny

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:11 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
Name: None
Trailer: None
None
Posts: 2,730
Standard circuit breakers do not come in a 10 amp rating. Since the smallest AWG wire size allowed in building construction for branch circuits is #14 rated for 15 amps ,the smallest standard breaker is 15 amp .2) Box size is determined by cu inch capacity ,wire size and number of devices installed in the box . Each # 12 AWG conductor requires 2.5 cu inches of capacity , the receptacle counts as 2 conductors and if the box has internal cable clamps that counts as one additional conductor . If you run a single 12-2 romex into a box with clamps and install a receptacle in that box you will need a box with a minimum cu inch capacity of 15 cu inches . There must also be 6" of free conductor at each box .Using boxes that are two small forces you to cut the wires extremely short and force the outlet into the box which leads to numerous other problems . Installing a GFCI receptacle is next to impossible in a shallow box. A 100 amp circuit breaker panel is rated for 20 branch circuit breakers with a maximum of 24 breakers so if you need more space for breakers you need to get a bigger panel (150 or 200 amp) The main breaker (service size) in a service panel is sized by the calculated load based on tables in the NEC not by the number and size of the branch circuit breaker ratings .Standard NM cable (romex) does not come in stranded wire only solid .They manufacture cut in boxes in both metal , plastic and fiberglass . If you use plastic or fiberglass boxes you must be extremely careful to cut the holes in the trailer really close or the plate will not cover . If you wanted to place every receptacle in your trailer on a separate 20 amp circuit ,you would not be violating the code but at some point the cost does not justify the extra work for little gain . Many appliances that have a small amp draw and the branch circuit breaker does not provide adequate protection come with a built in over current device . Look at your garbage disposal and there will be a red button on the bottom (internal circuit breaker) which provides running over current protection for the disposal motor
__________________

__________________
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All new electrical system kyle minor Modifications, Alterations and Updates 4 06-04-2010 12:02 PM
12 Volt Electrical System From Scratch Al POGUE Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 2 09-17-2007 09:20 PM
Adding 2 - 6 volt Batteries John Blair Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 4 03-09-2007 11:08 PM
Electrical System Barbara Gardin Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 2 04-18-2006 04:37 PM
Help adding a 12 volt system to a scamp 13 UncleJosh Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 10 03-31-2006 09:30 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.