Electrical Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2011, 10:38 AM   #1

Name: Howard
Trailer: 1986 13' Burro
Arizona
Electrical Question

I am new to this and own a 13' Burro. I know there has been allot of discussion about the electrical systems but here is one more. My trailer currently has a 110 plug in which runs to a double electrical outlet that appears to have 2 15 amp breakers built in. The PO ran a separate line from this outlet to another outlet located towards the front to run an A/C. When we looked at the trailer he had it all plugged in and running, didn't seem to be an issue. But what I would like to do is add another inside outlet (for a tv) and a outside outlet, but am concerned about overloading the system. I guess the question I have is do you think it would overload the system? I know a regular house has alot more outlets then this on one line. Also, I want to add a battery to power lights. Looks like PO took all that out. So, thought about running a separate 12v system and charge battery using a battery tender/charger. Any thoughts?? Thanks
Ralefan46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:49 AM   #2

Name: David
Trailer: 16 foot Scamp
Arizona
The AC should be on it's own circuit. You can run multiple plugs on a circuit with the same load precautions you would use in a home. Ideally, this should all go through a breaker box which includes a main breaker. The PO got by with it by being careful how he loaded the system.

You can add the battery system too. If you think you may do that in the future, get an AC/DC breaker box so everything goes through one hub.

David
DavidSo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 11:09 AM   #3

Arizona