Hooking up my fan to AC power - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2015, 10:49 AM   #1

Name: Dietrich
Trailer: Trillium
Washington, D.C.
Hooking up my fan to AC power

So I am a super newbie when it comes to all of the electricity in my 1975 Trillium 1300, especially considering a lot of previous owners made many modifications. But here is my basic set up, and what I am trying to do. Please let me know if my assumptions are safe and wise:

I have installed a MaxxFan Deluxe, like this one: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003ZOF09Y..._3umwvb1YN78ZJ

It runs on DC power, but I want it to run off shore power. So my plan is to take the negative and positive wires, and hook them up to a male 12V power plug: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007ZZGBJC..._-pmwvb01YK6YF

Then I want to plug it into a power converter: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0012BL8LG..._qrmwvb08EX079

Then just plug the power converter into the wall outlet of my trailer while on shore power. Good plan? Safe plan? Any concerns? Thank you in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Fiberglass RV
Dietrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 11:05 AM   #2

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Dietrich I know nothing about the converter that you have linked to so can't comment as to whether it would do the job or not but there are a number of RV specific/designed convertors out there. One of the more popular ones used in many of our small trailers is the Progressive Dynamics PD-4045.

In regards to the wiring up you may want to look in the Documents Center on this site under Scamp to take a look at their general wiring diagram as it is pretty basic and common to many of our trailers & is set up to do what you want as well as charge the battery. Also take a look at the website the 12 Volt Side of Life for more detailed info as to what other set up options may be.
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote