inverter help - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2013, 04:43 PM   #1

Name: David
Trailer: 17 foot boler
Alberta
inverter help

hey all ,

was in my trailer this weekend doing a few things and i noticed a problem , my interior lights do not work off my battery , actually nothing works off my battery , now being a mechanic i thought it was a simple fix but after running some diagnostic i've concluded a few things :

1 the lights and such are hooked up to 12 v power at the inverter

2 everything works off 110 volts through the inverter

3 the ground wire for the interior lights gets hot when plugged into 110 volts ( which leads me to believe i have a short ) but not when 12 v is hooked up and 110 is not

I'm kind of at a lose as i've never worked with an inverter before , by the way this is in my 1980 17 ft boler

thanks
vette_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:35 PM   #2

Name: Jared
Trailer: 1984 19' scamp
Kansas
Have you checked to see if the battery is charged?
Jared J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:44 PM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul VT16
Are you sure your you don't mean your convertor?
A inverter converts 12 volt dc to 110 v ac.
A inverter will be hooked to the battery/12v and 110 v ac will plug into it.
A inverter wouldn't control your 12 v lighting.
Now I'm really confused!
mszabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:00 PM   #4

Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2001 Casita Spirit Deluxe (I'm down to 2!)
As Mike so astutely points out you seem to have Inverter and Converter confused,I think?

They do EXACTLY the opposite thing.

As you are a mechanic I presume you have a digital multi-meter?
Read the converter output and make sure of polarity with the battery unhooked.
Then connect the battery so that it is the same polarity as the converter.
I have a feeling 1 of them is wired in reverse.