Inverter Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-17-2017, 06:21 PM   #1

Name: Andrew
Trailer: Burro
Idaho
Inverter Question

Hi all, I am very new to the electrical topic and have a few questions about my current setup. I previously gutted my '78 Burro and now have 2 deep cycle batteries, one is running all of my lights and water pump, the other is only hooked up to an inverter. My inverter is a 1000w (CAT 1000-Watt Power Inverter-CPI1000 - The Home Depot ) and I feel like I'm draining my battery too quickly. I only use it to charge small devices (cell phones and camera) and occasionally a small laptop. The inverter says it draws 8.3 amps, but is that constant any time it's switched on or does it depend on what I have plugged in? Could I get away with a lower wattage and lower amperage inverter?

I've been searching for an answer here but haven't found one applicable, so thank you in advance!
Bryana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:51 PM   #2

Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
Turn the inverter off, go to Walmart or a drug store and purchase a small charger that plugs into a cigeratte lighter socket 12VDC and charge your 5VDC devices using that. They cost around $5 each.
Now, Connect your batteries up in Pharrell and you will have double the 12VDC for you to use.
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 06:25 PM   #3

Trailer: Boler 13 ft / Casita FD
As Darwin says, do away with the inverter unless you have some other device you need that runs off 120VAC and buy the 12 volt cigarette plug and hook the two 12 Volt DC batteries in perellel +to+ and - to -
Do you have a converter/charger in the camper?
If so the batteries will charge when pluged into shore power.
If not you will need to charge your batteries some other way.