Lithium battery in Lil Snoozy - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2018, 09:38 AM   #1

Name: Douglas
Trailer: Lil Snoozy
MD
Registry
Lithium battery in Lil Snoozy

I have finished the LiFePO4 battery installation in our Lil Snoozy. We used the Li battery boondocking for 4 days a few weeks ago but I finally hard wired in all the pieces, including the ability to charge while driving, yesterday. I am no expert in batteries and chargers, I am a geologist. So I may have done something really stupid in my installation. I am only describing what I did. Please do your own research and make your own decisions. Please let me know if you have ideas for improvement.

Putting in a single Battle Born 100 Ah battery ended up not being a drop-in installation. It did eliminate the need for a battery management system, which made the installation much easier. If you mainly camp in RV parks and can plug in every night, you can just drop in the BB Li battery and be fine (but then you don't need a Li battery) but if you boondock, you need to make some changes. Only the charger wiring is absolutely necessary but you will significantly limit the benefits of Li batteries if you don’t do the others. Why buy an expensive, high performance battery and then handicap it?

The changes I made are: