Question About 15amp & 30amp Hookups - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2014, 05:29 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
honda03842's Avatar
 
Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Posts: 7,300
Frank,

The total of the breaker amps does not require a cord with an equal rating. For example, if you have four 15 amp breakers you do not require a 60 amp cord.

The function of the breakers is to protect the wiring that follows it. In practice there is no limit to the number of 15 amp breakers on the end of a 30 amp cord.

It should be clear that I am not arguing against a main breaker, it's primary purpose to protect the input power cord. I am saying that this function is provided at the power pole.

Of course the main breaker does permit the shutting off of all power to the trailer with one switch, though not much of an issue because the typical trailer will not have more than four breakers.

If you're putting in a new box by one can choose to add a main breaker, if you want to expand what you have, simply add breakers. Definitely if you're plugging into a 30 amp circuit a 30 amp power cord is appropriate.


Though we have a 30 amp power cord out of the trailer, when home we use a 20 amp power cord as an extension. From the safety perspective we are protected by our home's 20 amp breaker on the circuit.
__________________

__________________
Norm and Ginny

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 07:34 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Name: None
Trailer: None
None
Posts: 2,730
The code has a 6 disconnect rule . Some inspectors would want a main breaker in an 6 /8 circuit panel because you "could "install 6 or more circuit breakers . NEC Art 551-43 C limits the number of 15 or 20 amp branch circuits in an RV to five or requires an automatic load management system, again we are up against the 6 disconnect rule . Campground electrical systems are subject to abuse ,weather conditions and are almost never exercised or tested . The 30 amp breaker in the campground panel may be corroded to a point where it functions as a switch only and not as an over current device . I have tested a 15 amp circuit breaker by applying a 50 amp load and the branch circuit conductor burned off and the breaker did not trip. The code is the BARE minimum and does not always represent best practice .
__________________

__________________
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:19 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
honda03842's Avatar
 
Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Posts: 7,300
Steve,

Fortunately 4 breakers is the maximum in our Scamp and an inspector will never see it.

As to campground breakers, you are right, they are virtually never fault tested, For that matter breakers are rarely if ever tested on installation or any or time there after. They are assumed to work and statistically they do work well.

I will say that campground breakers are turned on and off more regularly than any breaker in your home and should always be turned off before removing your plug. The breaker should be turned off to protect the plug and outlet contacts from arcing for arcing will eventually harm the contacts.

(Humor and commentary on government) There is no doubt that we could use a few thousand annual breaker testers at $100,000 a piece running around the country doing annual inspections, it might save one house a decade. We do need the jobs....

Personally I believe you can go to 4 breakers in your trailer without a main breaker. I wonder how many Scamps ever built have one.
__________________
Norm and Ginny

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:23 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Steve L.'s Avatar
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: 2003 Casita 16' SD
Michigan
Posts: 1,690
Registry
I suppose that in a way it’s a measure of how much responsibility for your own safety you want to take. I’m thinking that one weighs the ability to detect a possible problem, the likelihood of failure and the consequences of said failure (Wowser! A DFMEA for you engineering wonks). Then one decides if you’re going leave it solely up to others to protect you and yours.
__________________
Steve L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:42 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
honda03842's Avatar
 
Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Posts: 7,300
Steve L. I definitely believe in doing the best you can within reasonable bounds of time and money to protect myself and others. In general I am careful.

I've wired three houses and three trailers without any issues. Actually replacing a single breaker with a double breaker in an old trailer may actually be a safety improvement.

A box with a main breaker is easy to install and if one is installing a new breaker panel, certainly get one with a main breaker if you want one. Personally in our Scamp 16, four breakers has been enough with out a main breaker. Can I think of scenarios where another main breaker would be advantageous, be more protective? Certainly!

I think my single axis trailer, though we've never had a problem, provides a higher vulnerability upon tire failure.

One can reach a point of over safety.... I notice that a high percentage of children do not have the freedom I did as a child, everything is more guided, more overseen, more controlled except for drugs, alcohol, and ..... Just a thought.
__________________
Norm and Ginny

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:43 AM   #20
Commercial Member
 
tractors1's Avatar
 
Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon
Posts: 1,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankcfx View Post
Shouldn't the total breaker amps equal the supply cord max amps? i.e. 30 amp service cord=2 15 amp breakers & a 15amp #10 supply cord = 1 15 amp breaker?
Frank
Each breaker is sized to protect the wiring downstream to the outlets; ie - 14 gauge wire used to daisy chain up to 5 outlets (under most codes) each of which can handle 15 amps, will pop if you pull a total current greater than the 15 amps total - but it's unlikely one would use all 5 outlets at the same time. It's not additive.

The main breaker is sized to protect the breaker box buss bars onto which each individual breaker is connected. Same story applies; users are unlikely to power ALL circuits simultaneously.

Charlie Y
__________________
Charlie Y

Don't drill holes, try custom storage you design: http://RVWidgetWorks.com
tractors1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:08 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Timber Wolf's Avatar
 
Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Posts: 1,440
If somebody just wanted a main breaker they could install a box in-line with a 30 amp breaker in it. A single pole 30 amp breaker may not be laying around on every Home Center rack though.
__________________
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 03:41 AM   #22
Member
 
Seth and Desiree's Avatar
 
Name: Seth & Desiree
Trailer: 1987 Scamp 13'
California
Posts: 54
So I just added a new twin 15 breaker switch to the empty slot on the panel and wired in a new outlet. I also wired in a sweet LED strip light from ikea under the top kitchen cabinet and modified it so it's hard wired with a switch instead of having to plug it in every time and use the in-line on the cord. Everything works...nothing caught on fire (yet) so I'm a happy scamper! Pics will be along eventually


Sent from my iPad using Fiberglass RV
__________________
* Professional Photographers at Zelo Photography
* Maker of Stuff and Doer of Projects at Stuff Seth Makes
* Proud Owners of Scamptastic
Seth and Desiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 03:51 AM   #23
Member
 
Seth and Desiree's Avatar
 
Name: Seth & Desiree
Trailer: 1987 Scamp 13'
California
Posts: 54
I should note that to do the ikea LED mod, I first ripped out the disgusting hard wired factory fluorescent light and used the wire to power an outlet instead. Now I have an outlet under the cabinet. Then I jumped off the electrical current going into the new under cabinet outlet and sent it into a household switch that now operates the ikea LED strip. I think it worked out perfectly.

The new breaker I installed in the open slot is for a new outlet I installed near the front of the scamp that will power our Breville toaster/oven. I built a temporary shelf/countertop extension for the Breville to sit on and the new outlet is beneath that (the Breville has a short power cord too, so the outlet placement is very convenient!)

-Seth


Sent from my iPad using Fiberglass RV
__________________

__________________
* Professional Photographers at Zelo Photography
* Maker of Stuff and Doer of Projects at Stuff Seth Makes
* Proud Owners of Scamptastic
Seth and Desiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp to 30amp adapter scamprookie Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 7 05-07-2013 09:16 AM
Wiring Diagram for 120v 30amp Burro entrance panel needed megatrack Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 1 03-27-2012 08:14 PM
S. Calif. sites needed w/hookups for possible rally in April 2012 RRIZZO Camping, Campout Reports 12 02-13-2012 06:12 PM
Aux gas can hookups jrnutpaul Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 8 11-18-2005 07:44 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.