Scamp Wiring and Converter Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-16-2015, 11:02 AM   #1

Trailer: Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
Registry
Scamp Wiring and Converter Questions

This may seem like a bunch of stupid questions but several of you have said the only stupid questions are unasked ones, so here goes.

I'm studying the Scamp wiring diagram in the document center and have a question about the power converter detail. There are two connections shown between the 12V (black) line and the power converter. One is a continuation of the same black line and the other is a green line that appear to be connected to a row labeled filtered circuits. Not knowing what each side (black and green) is for, at first it seems redundant but I'm sure several of you out there will be able to explain this to me.

I'm not able to look at my actual controller right now to see if there are additional labels on the unit as my Scamp is stored for the winter. I'm thinking this detail indicates that the black line between the controller and 12V line is for both battery charging and for feeding 12V from the battery back through to the controllers filtered circuits. I'm wondering about the purpose of the green line coming off the filtered circuit side. It might be for feeding filtered power to the interior lights and porch light also shown in the diagram but then why aren't these lights attached straight to one of the vacant filtered circuits? Frankly I'm not sure I have the big picture on power converter features as I haven't really used mine much or studied this before.