Trailer Electrical System Design - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-18-2013, 08:40 AM   #1

Trailer: U-Haul
SE Pennsylvania
Trailer Electrical System Design

I am beginning a complete refurbishment of my '84 U-Haul CT. (Ok, I have been saying that for a few years now, but I am REALLY doing it now...) The original electric controller (orange box) will be removed and replaced with a new controller/converter/charger (Progressive Dynamics PD4045 looks good).

I have a general idea of the electrical system design but I am not familiar with some of the details.

Are there any good references available that discuss the details of a trailer electrical system design/layout? Books? Web sites? Other?

As always, any help is most appreciated.

Craig T.
Craig D. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 09:30 AM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
I put the PD 4045 in our Uhaul and am happy with it. Only issue I had with it, and someone else did too, is a couple of the 12 volt wires were marked wrong. Easy enough to check with a multimeter. You want to eliminate that little breaker/outlet that is original on the end of the upper cabinet and either run the shore power cord directly to the new converter, or to a small breaker box just inside the cord access door and then to the power converter like I did. I have added a few outlets and two 110 lights, plus a couple 12 volt lights. Just try to plan ahead what you want to end up with. The PD4045 instructions may be a little confusing, or perhaps I just didn't read it right the first time, so look them over closely.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 10:04 AM   #3

Trailer: Class A Motorhome