Truckfridge won't run off converter, why? - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2015, 06:54 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Name: None
Trailer: None
None
Posts: 2,738
Your converter may not be able to maintain the proper output voltage when subject to the compressor's starting current . If the load on a DC power supply is greater than its rating the power supply will regulate
the voltage to get the current down to a safe level .The battery has no such regulation. As Mr. Miller suggested I would check the voltage at the refrigerator when the compressor is trying to start. "No load voltage is meaningless in this situation" I would speculate that the voltage at the refrigerator is enough to make the compressor hum but not enough to develop sufficient torque to get the compressor to turn/run.
__________________

__________________
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:52 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
David B.'s Avatar
 
Name: Dave & Paula Brown
Trailer: Lil Snoozy
Arizona
Posts: 1,724
Registry
Tim, I have the same refrigerator, and when I had our NOVAKOOL 12 volt danfoss style compressor refrigerator, the factory guy told me to hook it up directly to the battery (via a fuse).....I did and never had any problems. I didn't hook up our Truckfridge, as the Lil Snoozy factory installed it for me, but since the Lil Snoozy only comes with a battery charger, it must be hooked up directly to the battery. Hope this helps.
Dave & Paula
__________________

__________________
David B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 01:31 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Name: Frank
Trailer: Casita
California
Posts: 251
truckfridge 130

Specs say 60 watts input should be around 5 amps.
__________________
Frank F
frankcfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:17 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Name: JD
Trailer: Scamp 16 Modified (BIGLY)
Florida
Posts: 1,045
Here is a troubleshooting page:

https://www.isotherm-parts.com/PDF/s...leshooting.pdf

If when starting the voltage drops below the 10.4 volt level for even an instant then the compressor will lock out. Voltage has to be over 11.7 to reset.

Here is another troubleshooting guide:

http://www.dometic.com/QBankFiles3/E...uide_29020.pdf

This is one reason I got a (very) old swing compressor refrigerator- no starting surge. (noisy however!) The Engle uses swing compressors as well.
__________________

__________________
redbarron55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run off battery? Susanm34 Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 4 06-21-2012 01:24 PM
Electric hitch lift run off the light plug to the truck? Cyndivg11 Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 4 04-21-2011 12:16 PM
Tell me why this won't work, and how to make it better JenPB Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 23 04-22-2009 08:54 AM
My team won! My team won! Gina D. General Chat 7 02-02-2009 07:41 AM
WE WON!!! WE WON!!! Summer&Brad B. General Chat 19 12-12-2005 08:35 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.