Truckfridge won't run off converter, why? - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2015, 08:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Timber Wolf's Avatar
 
Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Posts: 1,440
Truckfridge won't run off converter, why?

I bought a TF130 Truckfridge ($$$$$) for my birthday (I have been a very good boy) this year and am installing (shoehorning really) it in my Scamp. What a terrific piece of kit this thing is. Gets way cold, and dang fast too! No need to quaff lukewarm root beer with the Truckfridge on duty! But here is the sit-rep:

Runs fine on a battery, sitting in the garage hooked up with jumpers or in the Scamp. Even a sorry battery down under 12V (11.9V last time I measured).

Runs fine with no battery at all but with the Tow/Tug/TV providing power via the 7 pin.

Will NOT run, just cycles trying to start the compressor but soon kicks out, with the converter in the loop. This is with OR without a battery in the line. If the converter is involved the compressor WILL NOT start and run. This is even though I have 13.02V when the converter is on.

So, what the heck? Runs fine off LESS voltage from a battery but not at all with the converter? And yes, this is the 27 year old original, boat anchor converter in the Scamp that should be replaced. But I was hoping to put that off indefinitely and concentrate on the 12V side of things. Like two new 6V batteries and solar. Please advise what might cause this, and not "just change the converter" please.
__________________

__________________
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 08:48 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
Voltage IS NOT available current. It sound like your wiring/converter is unable to provide the current needed to start the compressor.


Without seeing the exact wiring through the converter it's hard to guess what else might be a problem, but poor connections would be high on the list. I would read the exact voltage where the 12 volt line enters the device when it is trying to start and then work you way past each connection and find out where you are dropping voltage. But don't be surprised if it is at the converter. Some were rated as low as 15 amps when new and, between component breakdown, changeover relays etc, they do get tired.


BTW: Death, Taxes and replacing old converters are the three things that you can't put off indefinitely..... lol
__________________

__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:00 AM   #3
Member
 
ckayaker's Avatar
 
Name: Michael
Trailer: Trillium 4500
Quebec
Posts: 98
I agree with Bob. Check all connections from the converter. Sounds like it isn't putting out the amperage needed to get the compression running.
__________________
ckayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bob in Mb's Avatar
 
Name: Robert
Trailer: Surf-Side
Manitoba
Posts: 261
If the unit is running and then turned off and you try to restart shortly afterwards it will not be able to start because it is still under pressure. Let it rest for a while and retry on converter.
__________________
Bob in Mb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 11:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
Both Bobs are correct.
Also: The converter may not be putting out pure DC.
Personally, I would install a new converter that has the high enough amperage and the best battery charging ability.

I have purchased items from the following company and like their pricing.
Converter
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 11:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
And their price for the PD-4045 isn't bad at all at about $172.00
progressive
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
That refrigerator is 12DC/120VAC and has a built in converter to drop 120AC to 12VDC
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Timber Wolf's Avatar
 
Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Posts: 1,440
It is 12V only, and runs fine on 12V from a battery. I did not spring the extra for the dual voltage 12V/120V model. I would rather put that money toward a new converter! My current plan is to go ahead and install a brace of 6V batteries, unplug the converter, and go camping. We have a 3 day trip coming up in a couple of weeks and I need to be ready.


It will be a good test anyway to see how the batts do running things for that short a time. I will take my good battery charger and if there is more draw than I think I will charge the batteries. I suspect that just running the fridge and a few intermittent 12V LED lights we might make all 3 days in the top 50% of the brand new batteries.


I will have more time to order a converter and get it installed when we get back. That and I am not looking forward to spending money and standing on my head to install it. Not that I mind spending money, OR standing on my head to work on stuff. Just don't like both at the same time!
__________________
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:19 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Name: John
Trailer: bigfoot
Florida
Posts: 5
John Mohr

i checked the truck fridge web page .on the bottom left corner of the page for the tf130 theres a message i believe this will solve your problem.
__________________
John Mohr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Timber Wolf's Avatar
 
Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida
Posts: 1,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mohr View Post
i checked the truck fridge web page .on the bottom left corner of the page for the tf130 theres a message i believe this will solve your problem.
Link? Maybe here: http://www.truckfridge.com/tf130acdc.html I see what you may be talking about. Don't confuse an inverter with a converter. An inverter is 12V to 120V, a converter is 120V to 12V. And in any event I do not have the dual voltage model shown.
__________________
Timber Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mike Magee's Avatar
 
Name: Michael
Trailer: Li'l Hauley
Oklahoma
Posts: 5,145
It just about has to be a shortfall in amperage (current). Something is reducing the volume of flow. If the voltage reaching the fridge is as expected, you can still only be getting a trickle of it coming in.
__________________
How much time do we have left? 2 Chr. 7:14
Mike Magee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 07:28 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Name: Darwin
Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Posts: 3,030
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
I' m wondering if o e of those really large capacitors that the people connect to their car amps to supply the extra power required to make their bumpers rattle whild they listen to what they call music, that you can hear from a block away when you R driving down the road.

Used to just get the fridge started, then after the surge it continues to run.
__________________
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 07:50 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bob Miller's Avatar
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact II
California
Posts: 7,912
What's needed is the exact voltage at the refrigerator when it's trying to start.

The no-load line voltage is of little value if there is a voltage drop between the battery/converter and the appliance when it is drawing current.


There shouldn't be a need to add anything.
__________________
Bob Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 02:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Name: Joe
Trailer: 1999 Casita 17' SD
Ohio
Posts: 553
Your problem is when connected to 120 volts AC your converter has a relay that switches most 12 volt circuits to rectified AC from a transformer that does not output pure DC. (rectified AC instead)

A cure is to run it off the battery directly.

Most Parallax converters have the right two or three fuse positions operated straight off the battery and not the rectified AC from the transformer.

Put your refer on one of those and it will work as long as you have a good battery.

If a large capacitor is added as mentioned above you will have way more than 12 volts. Been there, done that.
__________________

__________________
Joe Romas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run off battery? Susanm34 Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators 4 06-21-2012 01:24 PM
Electric hitch lift run off the light plug to the truck? Cyndivg11 Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 4 04-21-2011 12:16 PM
Tell me why this won't work, and how to make it better JenPB Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 23 04-22-2009 08:54 AM
My team won! My team won! Gina D. General Chat 7 02-02-2009 07:41 AM
WE WON!!! WE WON!!! Summer&Brad B. General Chat 19 12-12-2005 08:35 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.