Odors, Pipes, tanks...........OH MY!!!! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2010, 08:02 AM   #1

Name: Paul
Trailer: 13' Boler 1977
Ontario
Odors, Pipes, tanks...........OH MY!!!!

Hello:

I am new to owning a glass egg, we bought a rough, but structurally solid 1973 Boler a couple of weeks ago

the door on it is bowing out at the top and bottom, but I am in the middle of the fix for that (long weekend and no welders are open), but I do have a few other questions

1) did these ever come with a toilet under the front storage hatch, passenger side? well mine does, it sorta looks like an after market job just from initial inspections

2) is the sink supposed to have a trap under it?, mine doesn't and i can sort of smell the black water tank!! ( i know it is hooked up wrong cause it actually uses a garden hose for drainage ) which is also loose where it goes into the tank!!!

3) The vent on the black water tank is loose in the opening under the drivers side front storage hatch, could someone post a pick of what it "should" look like ( i am a visual learner and like pictures) this is also another source of the tank smell

4) eventually i would like to replace the tank, it is metal and i am sure, over time it will rust and leak, does anyone know of a place that sells poly tanks?

that is it for now, I am sure as i dive into fixing her up that i will find more issues and come her to find a solution, ..........

greta site though,

I have only one suggestion, I am finding it hard to find any thing specific just to bolers, for instance i typed in "black water tank", and got posts for scamps, uhaul, bigfoot etc, and had to search through for ones just on Boler