Total noob question: grey water dumping? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2011, 08:38 AM   #1

Name: Paul
Trailer: Trillium Outback
British Columbia
Registry
Total noob question: grey water dumping?

Hi

We have a 13 ft Trillium trailer and we only have a sink (no shower, no toilet, no holding tank). Being completely new to Rving, it occurred to us that we don't know what the procedure is for letting our sink drain where there is no sewer hookup (which is the type of site we are typically given).

Should we let the hose drain on the ground under the trailer or should we collect it in a bucket (and then what)?

We are always careful to wipe our plates clean with paper towel before we wash them so there is very little food going down the drain.

Tips? Experiences?
Old 07-13-2011, 09:01 AM   #2
Raz

Trailer: Trillium 2010
End of an old garden hose into a container. You can dump the container at the dump station, toilet, etc. It's a good way to keep track of your water usage too. Raz
Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 10:40 AM   #3

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
You'll find that it's not only a bad practice to dump gray water on the ground in a park or campground, but that it's also illegal in most places. You have several options. An external gray water container can be purchased in several sizes. That is the best way to keep out of trouble. The cheaper way is a bucket with lid and a hose through the lid and sealed, a vent would also be needed.
Disposal is at dumping stations, sink water disposal stations, or campground toilet. One can always ask the campground host as to where to dispose of gray water.
Old 07-13-2011, 10:40 AM   #4

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCPaul View Post