Fiberglass RV

Fiberglass RV (http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/)
-   Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners (http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f55/)
-   -   Support beam and closet (http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f55/support-beam-and-closet-82795.html)

Kriss55 10-22-2017 02:11 PM

Support beam and closet

Hey guys!
I recently purchased a 1977 13' Scam fixer. I am in the process of gutting it so I can clean/paint the interior. The poor girl sat for a while and has a lot of mildew inside. My plan is to TSP the walls fill in the seams, Kilz then paint. I am wondering if I take out the support closet, kitchen cabinet and support bars for a few weeks. Will it will make the roof sag? I'm trying to get her cleaned up and put new flooring in before I put her back together. Thanks for the advice, I am a newbie so any advice is appreciated!

Kristen

EricAllyn 10-22-2017 02:16 PM

It will sag while there is no support there, but you should be able to get it back to where it belongs when you put the support back in. I put a support in before putting the fiberglass in, so that it will be where I want it, and then I fiberglassed the support in. Same with the walls and cabs. I don't like holes going through the shell if they don't have to.

LyleB 10-22-2017 02:19 PM

No actual personal experience, but lots of reading. Seems that most folks recommend constructing a simple, "T" brace to place between the floor and the ceiling while you are renovating the closet and/or kitchen cabinets.

Regarding painting the inside. The rat fur in Scamps and the Carpet in Casitas serves several purposes, nice appearance is only one. They also add insulation, block light so you don't become a glowing silhouette at night when the lights are on, and, very importantly, they prevent severe condensation on chilly nights when your breathing inside the trailer will condense on the cold walls and ceiling.