1981 Bigfoot 17 tow vehicles - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-16-2016, 09:13 AM   #1

Name: Joanne
Trailer: 1981 Bigfoot 17 ft
British Columbia
1981 Bigfoot 17 tow vehicles

Hi, I am new to this and may be posting in the wrong area etc.. I just purchased a 1981 Bigfoot 17 foot and have been looking at tow vehicles and am wondering what people with this trailer are towing with? I prefer to get an Suv however it seems I would have to get the giant ones or a truck.. Wondering if anyone tows with something like a Ford Edge or a Santa Fe size? Thanks in advance for any info.
JoanneH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 09:59 AM   #2

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington
Welcome to the forum. Your Bigfoot probably weighs 3000 to 3500 pounds with 300 to 400 pounds on the tongue. I feel it's best to stay considerably below the manufacturers published maximum capacity. I tow with a Toyota Tacoma 4X4 with tow package and it's a great combo. Different options on tow vehicles and different models of the same vehicle will change the tow capacity. My truck with tow package is rated to tow 6500# but the same truck without the tow package is rated to tow 3500#
Jack L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 12:49 PM   #3

Name: Z
Trailer: Sasquatch
Montana
Yeah those have a pretty short wheelbase and low tow capacity.

I tow my Bigfoot 17 with a 98 Toyota Tacoma, 4x4. It has a 5,000# limit with the "tow package". They didn't really have a tow package back then but with a hitch and brake controller installed it has a 5,000# tow capacity and 500# tongue weight limit.

In a perfect world I'd have a little more reserve between those capacities and my Bigfoot weight, but I'm still well within the safety margin. I wouldn't want to haul my trailer with anything less than what I've got, though.