Rear 2" hitch receptacle on Bigfoot 2500 trailer - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2017, 12:03 PM   #1

Name: Ken
Trailer: Bigfoot 24B175CB
Michigan
Rear 2" hitch receptacle on Bigfoot 2500 trailer

Has anyone installed a 2" hitch receptacle at the rear of a 2500 BF trailer to accomodate either a storage rack or bike rack? If so what is the maximum weight that it can safely handle?

Thanks,
Ken
msu1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 10:14 AM   #2

Name: Tom
Trailer: Sprinter 'til I buy
Denver, CO
Think about a various scales and the effect of sliding weights further from the fulcrum. I am not an engineer, but it makes me think about minimizing the weight back there. It will also affect your hitch, handling and tongue weight at the front, and your axle.
The trailer frame and how you attach would make a big difference. Who would know more about that than the manufacturer?
You need facts, not opinions. My opinion is that several bicycles would not overload it. A cargo box full of souvenir rocks might. A box containing your mother-in-law? ...Depends.
Tom 72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2017, 11:06 AM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York