1971 Boler 1300 repairs: door, rivets, cabinet supports, etc - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2016, 01:48 PM   #1

Name: Chad
Trailer: boler
Alberta
1971 Boler 1300 repairs: door, rivets, cabinet supports, etc

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the boler world, and the FGRV world in general, but I'm very excited to get our new project out to enjoy the benefits of not sleeping on the ground in a tent. I've been through the boler fairly thoroughly now and below are my most pressing issues without obvious solutions.

I've done some searching for information about the bolts that hold the door hinges to the shell of the body and the door itself (the horizontal bolts, not the vertical bolts with the spring and brass ball) and I'm coming up empty-handed so I'm hoping to get some help here.

One of my bolts snapped while I was trying to loosen it (to adjust the door angle slightly), so now I'm looking to replace all of them with a SS option but I'm not sure what I'm looking for. I could try to take the remaining bolts off but they're not moving at all and if I break another one I'll be stuck with the door completely off.

Does anyone know the hinge hole size, thread, and the length of the original bolts? I'd like to try re-using the original hinges (with the addition of the rebuild kit) if at all possible.

As for rivets, is there anything special about the rivets that need to be used to fasten the upper cabinets back to the shell, or are they pretty standard? I haven't done much with rivets but after looking into it they seem like the easiest solution to getting the boler back to good. I have several holes in the shell where rivets used to be and one way or another they will all need to be filled and waterproofed.