Gutting a 1974 Trillium - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2013, 05:40 AM   #1

Name: Dale
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Question Gutting a 1974 Trillium

Hi Folks,

I'm brand new at this. We bought a 1974 Trillium "in the rough". We would like to gut it completely and only put back in a bed and bistro table with two chairs - sorta like a bunk house. Looking at the cabinets etc. it seems they are molded "as one". How should I go about getting all of these components out of the shell? Thanks for your advice, Dale
dale k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:25 PM   #2

Trailer: 1981 Trillium 5500
most of those pieces are molded and then riveted in, keep in mind some of them add to the shell structure so that your egg doesn't burst under snow or heavy rain loads.
Feel free to browse and search the forums, there should be something along this line in the modifications threads
Joe MacDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 05:36 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Dale, to FiberglassRV, we're glad you're here

I'm with Joe on some of the discussion. The problem without an interior structure is the fiberglass can actually be a bit floppy, especially going down the road. I'm not familiar with the Trillium build, but I know Scamp makes sure there's a closet across from the door and the doorframe is reinforced, plus bars between the countertop and upper cabinets... which actually kinda hold the roof up. That's putting it simplistically...
Donna D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 07:22 AM   #4

Ontario
Thanks folks, What you have said is exactly what I was worried about. I was thinking about building "ribs" to support the structure of the roof but I'm not sure yet. I may have to re-think my whole "gutting" thing.
Old 05-21-2013, 09:25 AM   #5

Name: Dave W