Old Beachcomber Find...Is it worth the work? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2015, 01:48 PM   #1

Name: Robert
Trailer: In the market
British Columbia
Old Beachcomber Find...Is it worth the work?

Thanks to this community for lot's of great resources. I have been trolling the forum for a few months. Just found a 78 Beachcomber that needs quite a bit of work. I'm comfortable with the cosmetic, electrical and woodworking issues, but there appears to be frame and fiberglass issues that I need some advise on before committing to this restoration.

The frame looks like it has been repaired due to cracks, etc. The body will have to be removed and frame repaired. I am concerned about the fiberglass body. From the hitch, the right side of the wheel well has rolled outward, causing the tire to rub on the wheel well. The underside support behind the wheel is pushed up into the mount and the outside edge of fiberglass has bulged out. Not sure if this is just because the outside wall has flexed.

Has anyone experienced this before? Will the wheel well straighten up once the roof and walls are re-supported properly? Any feedback would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0768.jpg   IMAG0770.jpg  

IMAG0769.jpg   IMAG0764.jpg  

baxterboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 03:52 PM   #2
Commercial Member

Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon
Fiberglass is fairly flexible, so I expect proper support would help pull it back into shape. However, not being an expert on the subject, I would take it to a boat facility that repairs fiberglass boats and get their opinion.

Don't drill holes, try custom storage you design: https://RVWidgetWorks.com
tractors1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 09:28 PM   #3

Name: Robert
Trailer: In the market
British Columbia
Thanks for your reply