Advice on purchasing 1985 16ft Casita - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-19-2016, 09:48 AM   #1

Name: Susan
Trailer: Teardrop
Tennessee
Advice on purchasing 1985 16ft Casita

Hi, new to the forum. Currently have a tiny teardrop home build but looking to upgrade to an egg-type. I'm fairly handy with the space to do a remodel/renovation. I google multiple times/day looking for Casita/Scamp/all TT's egg shaped. Well, yesterday I found a 1985 Casita about 45 min from me that could be a potential project. Was wondering if you have any special advice as I'm going to look at it this evening? I was a property adjuster in my previous life so I already look at things different from many but I have no experience with these specific travel trailers. I just finished a full suspension change on my teardrop, so I'm not afraid of projects. I don't have the sum of money to buy a completely ready-to-go TT, but I'd like to take my time renovating one. Here's the description of the one I'm going to see, and I'll be taking many photos:

"in good shape needs some TLC and you are good to go. New refrigerator, newer hot water tank and water pump. Has fresh water holding tank and black tank. Toilet has been dis-connected but shower and sink still hooked up. Tires in good shape has spare and also buddy bearings for easy maintenance. Window A/C works great. Fiberglass body will last forever. New tongue jack also has been installed. In decent shape considering its age. "
Currently asking $2200

Advice appreciated!

Pixie Susan
Pixie Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 10:17 AM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: Scamp 13
California