Axle replacement on Bigfoot 15B17CB - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2010, 09:47 AM   #1

Trailer: 2017 Escape 17
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
After a storage building partially collapsed on the BF, the drivers side wheel was noted to have more camber than before, so a axle replacement is being planned. The dry weight is almost 2900 lbs so the current 3500lb axle is sufficient for our needs. We are considering a heavier axle for more load capacity but don't want too harsh of a trailer ride,
Any thoughts or experiences appreciated.
Tony and Darlene
Tony Nowak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:59 AM   #2

Trailer: 1974 Boler 13 ft (Neonex/Winnipeg)
I can't speak to a Bigfoot, specifically, and I'm not an axle expert.

Now, if you're still reading ....

One thing to keep in mind is that you are not accounting for the entire gross weight of the trailer with the axle capacity, as I understand it.

1) You aren't supporting the "unsprung" weight of the axle, wheels, and tires themselves.

2) You aren't supporting the tongue weight (it's on the tow vehicle).

For my wee Boler, I would imagine that the above would subtract somewhere in the neighborhood of 250#.

What I don't know is whether an axle that is overly "large" provides a rough ride. That seems like it would be true, intuitively, but

Raya
Raya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:14 PM   #3

Trailer: 2000 Bigfoot 17 ft (15B17CB)
Quote:
The dry weight is almost 2900 lbs so the current 3500lb axle is sufficient for our needs. We are considering a heavier axle for more load capacity but don't want too harsh of a trailer ride,
Any thoughts or experiences appreciated.
Tony and Darlene