Replacing the carpet in my Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2010, 04:03 PM   #1

Trailer: 2005 16 ft Scamp
Okay, having a semi long haired 80lb dog, I am really wanting to get the carpet out of here and am seriously leaning toward linoleum. Since I couldn't talk my friend into it while I was hanging around my home town, looks like I might be doing it my self.

I have never done anything like this before, but I remember a thread of a woman who did her own. I have read about the difficulty in removing the carpet...do I need special tools, if so, what kind?

I also read about the stretching effect, I believe, I need to know all about that I figure.

What parts do I need to remove from say the door frame, the metal stripping under the side dinette, etc?

Is this too big of a job for someone who has never done it and considers herself mostly helpless in these situations?

OR...is there someone on here willing to do it for me ? Okay, probably not, but I had to ask.

I have kind of priced the linoleum and besides the work involved, if I mess it up the materials are very inexpensive, so I figure if the rest of the job isn't too complicated, I might be willing to pull it off. (though I am still open to someone doing it for me of course ).

Any help would be appreciated very much as this carpet is thoroughly getting on my nerves...thanks to all who take the time to reply. MM
Monica M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 04:35 PM   #2

Trailer: 2008 Oliver Legacy Elite
Registry
Monica,
Although linoleum (and ready to stick down tile, as well) are relatively inexpensive, they're a pain to remove if you make a mistake or just don't like them.