Pulling 17’ scamp with 2008 Honda Odyssey - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Hi, I am....
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-26-2018, 09:32 PM   #1

Name: Shawn
Trailer: In market for scamp 13
Nebraska
Pulling 17’ scamp with 2008 Honda Odyssey

I’m considering purchasing a 17’ Casita, and would be pulling it with a 2008 Honda Odyssey.
I work as a musician, and have the van fully loaded with music equipment. I’m guessing that I usually have about 1100 pounds of stuff in the minivan.

Does anyone have experience, or advice on pulling a camper this large with an Odyssey?

The Casita’s empty weight is 2800 lb.
Coletrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 05:10 AM   #2

Name: Kelly
Trailer: Trails West
Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coletrain View Post
I’m considering purchasing a 17’ Casita, and would be pulling it with a 2008 Honda Odyssey.
I work as a musician, and have the van fully loaded with music equipment. I’m guessing that I usually have about 1100 pounds of stuff in the minivan.

Does anyone have experience, or advice on pulling a camper this large with an Odyssey?

The Casita’s empty weight is 2800 lb.
I was looking at what Etrailer had to say about a 2010 Honda Oddysey pulling a trailer, it's towing capacity is a total of 3,500 pounds including passengers in the vehicle. So your passenger weight plus 1100 pounds of extra stuff inside the vehicle plus the dry weight of the Casita and also the weight of the stuff you keep in the trailer will exceed the Odyssey's towing capacity. You are going to need a van that can haul bigger loads or a smaller trailer plus minimizing what you take with you.
k corbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 05:33 AM   #3

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California