Holes In BigFoot Bathroom - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2016, 04:16 AM   #1

Name: Daryl
Trailer: BigFoot
Alberta
Smile Holes In BigFoot Bathroom

I am considering buying a 1988 BigFoot. A previous owner has installed some racks and a mirror in the wall of the shower.
I am new to the molded fibreglass tt world (but the more I learn the better I like them!), is the wall solid fibreglass or two layers with insulation between?
Could these screws have caused any damage?

Thanks in advance from a newbie.
MountainAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 05:22 AM   #2

Trailer: Bigfoot Silver Cloud -1988
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin A
In our 1988 Bigfoot Silver Cloud, there is vinyl wallpaper on a sort of wood paneling in the bathroom. This covers a thick layer of rigid insulation (2 inches or so) and then you find the outer fiberglass wall. It would take long screws to reach the outer shell in our trailer. I'm guessing your wall is similar.
Kevin A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 05:39 AM   #3

Trailer: 1973 Compact Jr and 1980 Bigfoot 17 ft
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Tom Trostel Send a message via MSN to Tom Trostel
I agree with Kevin. My 1980 has 1" of Styrofoam between the interior walls and the exterior fiberglass. This includes the ceiling, wheel wells and floor. I cannot imagine that the shower is any different.
Old 09-14-2016, 05:57 AM   #4

Alberta
Thanks for the quick replies guys.
I have only seen pictures, it's a six hour drive for me to go see the trailer in person. I just want to be sure it's worth the trip.
I'm not sure, but looks to me like the bathroom is a fibreglass shell inside of the outer wall. It seems unlikely that the outer wall has been touched.