reasonnable price for lil bigfoot? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > Money Matters
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-31-2017, 01:04 PM   #1

Name: Julie
Trailer: Lil Bigfoot
British Columbia
reasonnable price for lil bigfoot?

Hello, we are going to look at a 1989 lil' Bigfoot today. It has been completely been refurbished, with new tires and brakes. they are asking for $10700. I am new to the fiberglass trailer world, so can anyone tell me if it's a fair price? we haven't seen it yet, but owners say everything is working.
Julgarneau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 01:27 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
That's a tough one, Julie. There are so many variables of condition, season, and location. You can do some research in the classified archives here and at Fiberglass RV's For Sale | Molded Fiberglass Travel Trailers For Sale.

A big question in my mind is whether the axle has been replaced. Lil Bigfoot uses a rubber torsion axle with a typical useful lifespan around 20 years. An axle replacement is somewhat more involved (and more expensive) on a Lil Bigfoot due to an usual frame design. If the axle has already been replaced that would be a big plus. Since new brakes are mentioned, it's possible but not certain.

Off the top of my head, assuming $CAD and everything checking out as described including the axle, it sounds pretty fair to me. But I'm going to equivocate like a good lawyer... do your homework and a very careful inspection! A second set of eyes with some RV experience and who is not emotionally invested in the purchase is always a good idea.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 01:46 PM   #3

British Columbia
Thank you Jon, that is super helpful!