Replacing The Electrical System in my Amerigo Fg16 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-09-2017, 07:37 PM   #1

Name: Christian
Trailer: amerigo
New York
Replacing The Electrical System in my Amerigo Fg16

I have been renovating a 73 Amerigo Fg-16 and will be completely replacing the electrical system. This is my first project and I know nothing about these systems and how to go about it. I would be grateful to anyone who could point me in the right direction for resources on the subject. There will be no appliances in the new camper, just outlets, lights and fans. I dont know if that makes a difference. I'm also interested in solar information as well. Thanks from a complete newb!
carlthecamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 07:56 PM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escape— 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
NFPA- -NEC 2014
steve dunham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 09:49 PM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
Are you anywhere near Albany New York Carl?
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 11:42 AM   #4

Name: Michael
Trailer: Trail Cruiser
Alberta
When you remove the old wiring, do it one piece at a time and replace each wire with a new piece that is at least as heavy as the one you remove. Make sure to include all fuses. If you are replacing the light fixtures, receptacles, fan etc. do it when you replace the wires.
Calculate your amp/hour power usage and buy solar panels with twice that amount to account for low sunlight conditions during cloudy days. Mount your solar panels on the roof or mount a bracket that will hold them if you plan on removing then during travel or when your unit is in storage to keep them in good shape.