1988 16' Scamp Rehab - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-17-2015, 01:17 PM   #1

Name: Steve in NY
Trailer: Scamp
New York
1988 16' Scamp Rehab

I bought a 1988 16' Scamp #4. It has no water damage and is in surprisingly good shape. But being the nut I am, I decided to go through it completely to clean 27 years of life off it and make sure its good to go. I've scoured the archives and I am replacing the original carpet with vinyl and doing a few other mods. Please comment on anything you can, because I am new to Scamps and RV's in general.

1. I'll start with the controversial one first. My wife and I decided to remove the bathroom. We are going to install a hand held outside shower for the few times we need it and go with a porta potti. We are sailors and backpackers and feel that the space taken up by the bathroom is silly for us. We'll install a bench where it is and put a small pedestal table so when my wife sleep in I can have a separate place to hang. I'm going to start removing it this weekend. I have someone interested in it. What do you think a fair price for the working 911 toilet, shower stall and pan, assuming I get them out in good shape?

2. It has a non-working Dometic 2201 3way refrigerator, and I plan on replacing it with the newer version (2193). Anyone done this and lived through it?

3. The bases of the standard lights have yellowed, but otherwise work good and there are four rivets in each base, so I'd prefer to keep them, and just add LED bulbs. Anyone found a good replacement or a way to freshen their look?

4. The big mystery. I have a closet AC installed that doesn't work. I'm assuming it was the factory model, because the installation looks pretty professional. The problem is the air intake up and down, and most modern AC units take in air on the side and expel them out the back. Anyone done a replacement with good results?