Brake Lights/Turn Signals Scamp - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2016, 11:46 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Brake Lights/Turn Signals Scamp

Hi, Newbie here.
Recently purchased a 1981 13' Scamp.
The running lights and tail lights work. The lights even blink when locking my vehicle with the key fob.
But the brake lights and turn signals do not work.
I've rented moving trailers at UHaul and have never had a problem, so I don't think it's my vehicle.
Any ideas?
Thanks
jzaman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 12:26 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
For best results take the trailer and the tow vehicle to a local RV repair shop. Messing with with the wiring could cause larger problems if you don't know what you're doing.
Old 08-11-2016, 10:58 PM   #3

Name: Gilda
Trailer: 2011 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
For what it's worth...We had U-Haul install our new hitch system and discovered that the rear lights were not working...well the Yellowstone park police stopped us at night and told us so. When we got home (we drove only in daylight after that stop) we brought the TV to U-Haul and they discovered that the wiring for the back lights had NOT been installed! They fixed it and we've had no problem since.
Gilda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2016, 07:26 AM   #4

Thanks
Old 08-12-2016, 09:30 AM   #5

Name: Duane
Trailer: 1978 Burro
Michigan
4 way trailer plug tester

Quote:
Originally Posted by jzaman1 View Post
Hi, Newbie here.
Recently purchased a 1981 13' Scamp.
The running lights and tail lights work. The lights even blink when locking my vehicle with the key fob.
But the brake lights and turn signals do not work.
I've rented moving trailers at UHaul and have never had a problem, so I don't think it's my vehicle.
Any ideas?
Thanks