How strong is the roof on my Trillium? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2019, 10:46 AM   #1

Name: Ariane
Trailer: 1977 Trillium
British Columbia
How strong is the roof on my Trillium?

Hi there! I'm a new member of this forum but I have been visiting this site for information since 2016 when I did a trans Canada trip to get my 1977 Trillium. It's in pretty good shape, all things considered. I am very happy with doing little improvements every year. I usually pressure wash it every spring and this year I have sap and black spots that are stubborn and wont come out, on the roof.
Can I stand on top of the roof without damaging it to scrub the spots off? I'm about 200lbs. I got Bar Keepers Friend today and am going to attempt to get the more stubborn spots. I'm still on the fence about what to use as a finishing protecting coat. Lots to read here on that.
Grateful for advice on getting up on that roof.

Here's a couple of pics from last year.
Attached Thumbnails
Pistachio.jpg   Pistachio 2.jpg  

Ariane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 11:01 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet (want 13 ft fiber glass
Registry
The roof is NOT strong enough to stand on. Work from ladders or scaffolding.
Have you used Turtle Wax “Bug & Tar Remover”?
Dave & Paula
David B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 11:20 AM   #3

Name: Ariane
Trailer: 1977 Trillium
British Columbia
I have not tried the turtle bug and tar remover, do you recommend it over the Bar Keepers Friend? Thanks for answering my question re: roof strength. I'm a short gal and there is only so far I can reach with my arms and a ladder....I never even thought of scaffolding. Good tip.
Ariane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 11:43 AM   #4

Trailer: No Trailer Yet (want 13 ft fiber glass
Registry