Best camper trailer for a woman? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2021, 03:26 PM   #1

Name: Olga
Trailer: Thor
Ohio
Best camper trailer for a woman?

I know this may sound silly to some of you, but I need a bit of advice. What is the best Fiberglas travel camper that would be easy for a woman to tow? I’m new to this lifestyle and am a bit concerned with navigating mountain roads and different terrains by myself. Is there a specific model that rates best in that regard? I guess I am looking for a lighter camper.
Olga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 03:31 PM   #2

Name: Shelby
Trailer: Casita SD
Tennessee
I'd suggest a van or other self contained RV.
ShelbyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 03:37 PM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
I've seen petite women handle everything up to a semi truck and trailer with no problem, and I've seen burly men that couldn't handle a simple landscape trailer. I've never seen a connection between size or sex when it comes to handling a trailer.

+10 for ease of use, a Class B is easy/peasy. Small Class C motorhome would be next. Towing a separate camper of any size means hooking up/unhooking, backing up more challenging. Small trailers can be harder to back up than larger ones.
thrifty bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2021, 06:04 PM   #4

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Agree with Bill. Anybody can learn to tow. Not everybody likes it.

A trailer is a lower cost way to get into RVing than a small motorhome, especially if your trailer is small enough to tow with your everyday vehicle. Scamp is the largest manufacturer of smaller molded trailers. The smallest 13’ model is very nice for one person and available with or without an onboard bathroom.