Can I lock this thing??? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-07-2008, 11:34 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp
Wow, I am a total newbie when it comes to trailers! Every time I turn around I realize that there is yet again something I have no clue about... I am picking up a little 13' scamp... Lets say I go to my campground or rv park and want to leave my camper while I run to the store... can I lock it down somehow? I would really hate to come back to find that someone else has hitched and ditched!

-thanks again, you guys are great!

Lynn L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 12:54 AM   #2

Trailer: 1975 13 ft Trillium
Registry
.........look at the mount itself (the device on the tongue end of the trailer that the ball fits into from underneath), there should be a place to put some sort of locking device onto it that will NOT allow the latching lever to be raised. This is also an eggsellent way to secure your trailer to the ball mount while traveling. Keeping the locking lever down keeps the ball securely cupped in the mount. Alot of folks use a padlock, your choice as to how expensive to go, or there is a commercially made devise which ISN'T a lock as such but more just a way to keep the lever down on top of the ball. It is easily removed when not needed, but offers NOTHING in the way of theft protection.
Doug Mager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 01:20 AM   #3

does anyone have a photo of this mechanism? Do all trailers come with it?? I don't have the trailer here to look at...
Old 06-08-2008, 01:42 AM   #4

Trailer: 2005 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe / 1996 Dakota 4x4 V6
Lynn