charging ipad and phones - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2015, 05:50 AM   #1

Name: Karen
Trailer: 1975 1300 Trillium
Michigan
Registry
charging ipad and phones

Hi,

We are planning to camp off grid a lot and use our solar panels to run lights, fan, etc...BUT, I didn't realize our AC plugs would not work on solar. ha ha ha...because I am NEW to this. Anyways, I love my ipad as a kindle reader so I can read at night without using lights, that wake the other person. But the battery wouldn't last a full week without some help. How so you charge phones and ipads while boondocking?
Old 02-07-2015, 06:30 AM   #2

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Karen,

Any reasonable solar panel should allow you to keep all the typical electronic devices powered. We have 80 watts of Solar and it is adequate for us.

We have multiple ways to charge our phones, e books, pad and computer.

Car Charging. All our devices can be charged while driving plugged into our car's DC outlet. We use the DC outlet in two different fashions. First we have chargers that can plug directly into the 12 volt outlets of the car (2) and charge our devices directly. Generally we have our phones plugged in while driving. Second, we have a 12 volt to 110 VAC convertor that we can plug into the 12 volt outlet. This allows us to plug traditional ac chargers in while traveling.

Trailer Charging. The techniques used in the car can be used in the trailer. In our trailer we have two 12 volt outlets. The same 12 volt chargers available for all these devices can be used in the trailer that one would use in the car.

We also have small 12 Volt DC to 110 VAC convertors for use in the trailer. We generally use these small convertors for running the Television at night but could also be used for charging.