Depreciation on investment - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-05-2007, 07:03 PM   #1

Trailer: Bigfoot 17 ft Gaucho
A dear friend and neighbor owns a Class A Motorhome. He was my mentor, having taught me about trailers when I was a brand newbie. He wants to upgrade to a Holiday Rambler motorhome that will last 10 years (his words) -- his coach is about 4 years old now and in need of routine, expensive maintenance.

Using the Blue Book, his motorhome depreciated $10,000 (yes, that's thousands) from December 31 2006 to January 1 2007.

Having recently sold our 2004 Casita SD for every penny we paid for it, I feel we are unbelievably fortunate, and made a very wise investment.

Happy New Year.

Eric
Ericpa3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 07:23 PM   #2

Trailer: Former Burro owner and fan!
Registry

If properly maintained and not abused, our trailers will be worth what we paid when we go to sell, at least (If you bought used)

I am curious about depreciation from folks that bought new and sold later. Anyone?
Gina D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 07:32 PM   #3

Trailer: Casita 2000 Spirit Deluxe
I owned my Scamp 16 ft (yr 2000) for a year (bought it used in 2005) and sold it in 2006. I did add a screen door, and a rear window that slides open. I bought it for $7800 and sold it for $8000. I figure I lost a couple of hundred from things I added to it, but was well pleased with the sale.

Karalyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 08:05 PM   #4

Trailer: Y2K6 Bigfoot 25 ft (25B25RQ) & Y2K3 Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
This is a topic I have a little experience with, having bought and sold nearly a dozen trailers over the past three years...