Escape verses Oliver - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 05-08-2017, 02:17 PM   #1

Name: Dwain
Trailer: Searching
Florida
Escape verses Oliver

As I shared in another forum, I am just beginning my research, and it appears from what I am reading the Oliver is the better built, but almost doubles the price. I am wondering if the Oliver four ply of FG is important if I don't intend to be in frigid temperatures. It appears the connecters and hardware is superior on the Oliver, but for the price of an Oliver, you could replace these pieces often on an Escape. It also appears that the Oliver would be the best in quality, second would be the Escape in FG trailers. Would those on this forum agree? It appears to me that it gets down to what one can afford. I would like to know what you as an Escape owner thinks, if paying the extra price for an Oliver, would be worth it and if there are any other reasons besides cost for choosing the Escape. I am thinking of a unit between 17-21 at the most.

Thanks so much for info!

Dwain
Old 05-08-2017, 02:55 PM   #2

Name: Mike
Trailer: Escape 21 & Jeep GC 5.7 (Previous 2012 Casita FD17 & 2010 Audi Q5)
Puget Sound, WA
Registry
Dwain,

I think the short version here is that those who thought the difference in quality was not worth the difference in price are called "Escape and Scamp and Casita owners", etc.

On the other hand, some of those who thought the difference was worth the additional cost may not have been able to afford an Oliver.

The Escape and Oliver are two very, very different trailers. They are both well liked and respected by many owners and would-be owners, but they are not in the same class at all.

The Olivers are also much heavier, so require a higher-capacity tow vehicle.