Maiden Voyage today with Scamp - sure I'm worried - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2017, 07:20 AM   #1

Name: Lisa
Trailer: 1992 Scamp 13'
California
Registry
Maiden Voyage today with Scamp - sure I'm worried

Going to take my mom overnight camping today.
I'm a newbie to pulling a travel trailer, but everyone has to start at some point.

I've done as many preparations as I know:
Lights working
Wheel bearings repacked
New Tires & Spare
New propane tank
Insurance with towing purchased
Battery charged
Crawled under to inspect the frame

The Scamp is a 1992 basic model, no restroom, heat or air. Previous owner added a Fantastic Fan.

I think my biggest worry is if I am able to pull into the parking spot. If I have to back it in, I will have to go one inch at a time. My mom and I are probably not strong enough to unhook and roll it, even if it is a 13-foot trailer.
I've been busy prepping it and not practicing driving it.

I'll post pics soon!
Feel free to give me any newbie tips!

The rig:
lisantica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 08:25 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Backing will be a little tricky with such a large tow vehicle and small trailer.

If possible, line up so you back up to the left, not the right.

Hand on the bottom of the steering wheel and turn the wheel in the direction you want the trailer to go.

As soon as the trailer begins to turn in the desired direction, start returning the steering wheel to center. A little goes a long way with a short trailer.

Don't hesitate to pull forward and take another run if things go amiss.

If you have time on the way, take 30 minutes in an empty parking lot with no obstructions to practice.

Relax and enjoy!!! This is meant to be fun! You will master it quickly.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 08:30 AM   #3

California
Registry