Moved: 5th Wheel or Travel Trailer? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-12-2011, 04:57 PM   #1

Name: PDowning
Trailer: "Currently Shopping"
OK
Moved: 5th Wheel or Travel Trailer?

Hello!

I am a NEWBIE trying to select the "choice egg" for me. I would like the space of a fifty wheel to have more space than the EscapeTravel Trailer. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a 5th wheel vs the tow travel trailer. Guess the Escape is strictly tandem wheels?

I would appreciate any help you can be in my decision process.

Thanks!

Camper Downing, Oklahoma
Paula Downing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:43 PM   #2

Trailer: 1979 13 ft Boler and 1987 Bigfoot 5th Wheel
Registry
Paula, you may want to start a new topic on this so it won't get lost in this thread. I have some opinions on this but will check in when we get back from camping. Leaving in a bit!
Old 01-14-2011, 12:08 AM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul VT16
Registry
I broke this discussion out into its own

Regards, Matt
Old 01-14-2011, 07:21 AM   #4

Trailer: 1990 Bigfoot 5th Wheel
Hmm. The 5th wheel is easy to hookup, especially with one person. It tows like a dream, but backs up a little different from a trailer. Main disadvantage to a 5th wheel is that it mandates a 1/2 ton tow vehicle. The sleeping area on my Bigfoot is relatively private from the rest of the trailer, which works well with night owl/morning person couples.
Cam A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:01 PM   #5

OK
Cam!
Thanks for the info. I wondered if the 5th wheel might be easier to hook up. However I rece'ved info on the Scamp that it is really a "hitch" hook-up and might be harder. I'm short to reach into the bed, etc.