New headlamp from Black Diamond - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-22-2012, 06:50 PM   #1

Name: Russ
Trailer: Scamp 16' side dinette, Airstream Safari 19'
California
New headlamp from Black Diamond

I have been using this type of lamp for many years. They are handy for tackling all sorts of tasks in the dark. Your hands remain free and the light is directed wherever you point your head. Led technology has really increased the run times in recent years. Miners used these powered by liquid fuels or carbide. (I think) The first modern one I purchased had a krypton bulb and a very dim led as an energy saving option. It was only useful for close up reading or tasks while on led, and the krypton bulb, while brighter had only an hour or so burn time on 3 AA batteries. I have continually upgraded over the years to gain lighter and better systems.
The trend has been to shun AA's in favor of AAA batteries to make the lights lighter. I still prefer the AA's since my GPS and Older camera also use them and I can switch between the devices.
The new Icon from Black Diamond has amazing brightness of 200 lumens with a burn time of 75 hours! You could trail ride a mountain bike with that much light. The 200 lumen output is from one led, and is infinitely dimmable. You hold down the on off switch to continuously dim and brighten the lamp. To turn it off just momentarily hit the switch. Hit the switch again and two smaller led's turn on. They are also infinitely dimmable, and can last up to 250 hours on low. Red led's are also selectable which will keep your pupils from dilating and causing night blindness. The unit is water resistant to a depth of 3 feet.