New Trailer Smell - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-14-2009, 02:29 PM   #1

Trailer: 2009 17 ft Eggcamper / Chevy S-10
Registry
My wife and I have been considering buying a Casita for several years and the time is about right, she finally joins me in retirement this summer. My only real concern is my wife is extremely scent sensitive, and to a somewhat smaller degree, so am I. I have been forced to leave a fabric store because of the formaldehyde smell and she will get an instant headache whenever anyone with cologne passes too closely. Our main concern is from all the carpet on the walls; is there much odor from the glue and carpet? I don't want to buy a used trailer since it looks like I can pick up a new one for not much more than what late-model used ones sell for, but I don't want my wife to get a headache every time she enters it either.
Thanks for any help you can give,
Ray N
Ray N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 02:59 PM   #2

Trailer: 1975 13 ft Trillium
Registry
Hi Ray, I think there are companys out there similar to carpet cleaning companys that do 'odor removal' as well as cleaning.
Even IF the trailer is NEW and you both suffer from this problem with odors, it might just pay you to take your new trailer (IF you end up with a new one) and have it cleaned and 'sanitized' ....an ounce of prevention????

You would also do the same with a used model too!!
Doug Mager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:07 PM   #3

Trailer: 2005 13 ft Scamp / 2004 Honda Odyssey
Hi Ray,

Hope you can find something that will work for you.