Noob Asks: What's the Downside to This? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-04-2011, 09:24 AM   #1

Name: m
Trailer: in the market
California
Noob Asks: What's the Downside to This?

Total noob here. I just discovered this category of "eggs" as you refer to them. WOW - seems like a dream come true. A lightweight RV I Can tow with a Camry V6? Enough room for two and a tiny dog? (Hopefully) easy to set up? Ok, what's the downside to this? What am I missing? Is fiberglass less safe, or more maintenance, or gets blown over in the wind, or too cold in the spring, or too hot in the summer or what?

Why would anyone by those "other kind" of trailers when these exist?
redwoodguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 09:31 AM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi "m" glad you found FiberglassRV. I'll leave the Camry towing question to others more in the know.

The downside (if you call it that), is typically you will get a smaller trailer for the same money compared to a stick built trailer.... we call them stickies, they have framed walls and panels of some manner screwed into the frame. Molded trailers, if maintained, last years and years and seem to have fewer maintenance issues than the stickies. Resale value is high on maintained molded fiberglass trailers. There are also far, far fewer manufacturers of these eggs. You can find a stick built trailer for sale everywhere. Eggs are much harder to come by, even used. Eggs are sold direct through the manufacturers, not a dealer network (with the exception of Bigfoot). You can buy new eggs in 13'-20 foot 5th wheel size, used up to 25' (Bigfoot).

Enjoy reading all FiberglassRV has to offer and ask questions, we're glad to help.