The "screen door" dilemma... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2011, 01:49 PM   #1

Name: PaulOWindsor
Trailer: 2011 Trillium 1500 & 2002 Airstream 34
Ontario
The "screen door" dilemma...

Group : We've just returned from Bolerama...& had a great time.

One thing that we noticed (actually, make that...failed to notice..) is that there seems to be no real solution to the issue of how to keep air conditioned air in a trailer...while still having the availability of a screen door.

This got me thinking as we drove home to Windsor from Wainfleet...and although I'm not an engineer...we do have a sailboat...and as a sailor, we've dealt with similar problems.

You see, there are times aboard when it's soooo hot, we need a breeze to keep cool (screens) and there are other times when we have to keep nasty weather outside (either rain or cold..) from getting to us !! (lest the Admiral mutiny !!)

The solution has been a cockpit enclosure for the sailboat, with screens all around, that also has zippered plastic windows that can be unzipped & rolled up to allow a breeze to go through the screens.

Like this... Photo Gallery of Custom Canvas Enclosures by Waterman's Canvas & Upholstery

So here's the plan...

I need to find a talented person, who can fabricate a "hinged aluminum door-frame" for us...which I will then take to our very talented boat cover people to have the "canvas screen door with a roll up window" put together.

With a bit of luck, perhaps some of you may even be compelled to admire what I've done at next year's Bolerama !!

If any of you know a good aluminum fabricator who can make us a good frame for our 2011 Trillium 1500...pls let me know !!

Cheers, P.
PaulOWindsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 02:30 PM   #2

Trailer: Boler
Registry