Towing Questions - Fiberglass RV

Old 06-20-2020, 09:49 AM   #1

Name: Katherine
Trailer: Boler
British Columbia
Towing Questions

Hello Everyone,

I'm wondering if anyone has towed with a Suzuki Grand Vitara? I have a 2012 that I plan on towing my 16' boler with.

My vehicle can tow up to 3000 lbs. and my boler is 1900 lbs on paper.

I'm new to towing, I've had a hitch installed and an electric brake controller and I'm putting electric brakes on my trailer. Is there anything else that I need to do to my vehicle? I'm a bit worried about towing up hills especially.

Any advice would be a great help!

Katherine

KatherineK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 01:36 AM   #2

Name: Elliott
Trailer: Bigfoot
Everywhere
For extended uphill, the usual problems are power and heat. 166HP is.. not a lot for hauling a trailer around. Merging will require some planning ahead, and climbs will require patience. It'll make it, but it might make it at closer to 55MPH than 65. At high altitude it'll be worse.

Defenestrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2020, 06:34 AM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19; 1977 Trillium 1300
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
Every truck stop has a scale. For less than $15 you can get the actual weight. It likely is a lot more than you think, you might be able to pack less stuff and make it more manageable.

Without data you never know. Hard to imagine a 16 foot Boler will be just 1,900 pounds. That sounds like one of those "somebody told me" weights.

And I do not know of any 16 foot trailer that weighs 1,900 pounds. Several 13 footers weigh that much (depends on how the trailer is equipped, bathroom, etc.).

People that tell you the weight of their trailer rarely have actually weighed it.

Many, many years ago I towed my first trailer. The RV dealer told me I was going to be fine. I wasn't. Marginal towing is no fun. Reached the top of vantage climb in central WA state, coming out of the desert. I was going 29MPH...