Wanting To Chat With Fellow Compact JR/II Owners - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2007, 05:56 PM   #1

Trailer: 1973 Compact II / 2001 Honda CRV SE automatic
Send a message via AIM to Joseph Domingos Send a message via Yahoo to Joseph Domingos
Hey Everybody
Im new to FGRV and let me say, I'm really enjoying the site! I've stumbled on it in searches before, but never realized what a resource it could be until I actually joined, so many many thanks to the creators and hardworking folks who maintain this site.
Honestly it's really great too, to finally see that I'm not the only person on the planet with a Compact! hehe I've heard from a few of you before, but I'm curious to know more, to hear some stories of positives and negatives of our little rigs. I'm still pretty 'young' in my experience with mine, since I only got in during summer of 2006, and haven't used it much yet, but I'm definitely learning.
FYI, my rig is a 1973 Compact II, top 1/2 white, bottom 1/2 a light green. From what I've seen (in all of your pics & postings!hehe) mine has the 3way fridge, the TINY bathroom, the stove with the oven, an H2O pump, and the little battery compartment with the outside door. Some wise past owner (I'm owner #3) added a toolbox on the tongue for stuff. Mine also has some suspicious marks around the side windows that look like there might have been tiny awnings at one time, anybody ever seen anything like that? Also, how complicated is replacing the pop top's fabric? Mine's not too bad, but I think it would be wise to do before it DOES get bad, right?
And how tricky would it be to add a porchlight? I've seen a few in other folks pictures, but I'm very unsure about making holes in the ensolite (spelling?). Does it just peel off, do you run wiring between the ensolite and the outer wall, or what?