Watching movies when off grid - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-27-2022, 02:40 PM   #1

Name: Larry
Trailer: Burro
California
Watching movies when off grid

I have a 13’ Burro, cozy as can be.
I’m wondering how a lot of you watch movies when off grid and what kind of device you find the best.
I use an iPad mini- small screen, but was wondering if an inexpensive laptop might be better. A few have DVD players.
I’m wondering if I could download movies to a flash drive(when internet is available) and then show them offline on the laptop.
I’m not too tech savvy and I need something simple.
Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks
Burroman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2022, 03:30 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
We use a standard iPad and watch content downloaded from streaming services pre-trip. On longer trips we replenish content during a meal stop or coffee break with WiFi. The iPad can be recharged from our car or trailer battery, while a laptop needs 110V power.

We don't watch very much, but we like to be prepared, especially during cool season outings when days are short and evenings long.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2022, 04:08 PM   #3

Name: Dennis
Trailer: Scamp
Minnesota
I use a standard iPad, and either stream tv, using a hot spot, or I have a selection of movies that I have down loaded.
Old 08-27-2022, 07:39 PM   #4

Trailer: Outback (by Trillium) 2004
Registry
We use a laptop and have movies and television shows downloaded onto a hard drive. Works very, very well for us.
theresa p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2022, 09:19 AM   #5

Name: Larry
Trailer: Burro
California
Charging laptop

Thanks for reply.