Wheel chocks: 2 or 4? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-07-2020, 05:57 PM   #1

Name: Amy
Trailer: Casita Independence Deluxe 17
Florida
Wheel chocks: 2 or 4?

Hi - I bought a pair of Camco wheel chocks. I have watched a few videos, but do not know if I need a pair per tire, or just one pair for one tire. I am new to the world of Casita camping, so I have lots of questions. (I practiced backing up today. I almost cried. Almost - but mostly from laughing at my lack of talent!) Thanks - Amy
Old 03-07-2020, 06:09 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
A pair, for a tire, on both sides. Four in total.
Old 03-07-2020, 07:53 PM   #3

Name: Dave
Trailer: 2013Escape 21
Iowa
You should chock them as Glenn described. If you only chock one wheel the trailer can pivot in a heavy wind and that’s not good. I often thump mine tight with a rubber mallet. I’ve camped on a river gravel pad in a 50mph wind/ thunderstorm. I felt the trailer rock up and drop back down a couple times. When it was all over the sand pad stabilizers were better than an inch off the gravel as they had “mushed” the gravel out. But I had a chock front and back on the tandems so the trailer stayed straight. The storm came up pretty fast but I would have had time to put the trailer on the hitch if I would have thought about it. Using the maximum number of contact points is something I believe in.
Iowa Dave
Iowa Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 08:41 PM   #4

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Florida
What Glenn and Dave both said.
C&G in FL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 08:42 PM   #5

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York