Which one to pick - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Fiberglass RV Community Forums > General Chat
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-10-2009, 07:27 PM   #1

Trailer: 2010 17 ft Escape B ('Cafe Egg')
Registry
Unhappy

Hello fellow-fiberglass fans,

I am new to this web page. I am currently looking for a travel trailer for my daughter and me. Now here is the thing: I fell in love with the concept of the fiberglass trailers, and am looking for a suitable trailer between 13' and 17'. I am already now particular about the Scamp and the Casita. How do they compare in quality? What is your experience with either of those, 13', 16' and 17'? Which one would be easy enough to handle for a single mom, while a four-year old is around?

I already gathered that those are hard to come by, especially when used. I already contacted both companies asking for more information.

Your help would be very much appreciated!

Yours,

Gerda
Gerda, H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 07:52 PM   #2

Trailer: 1974 Boler 13 ft (Neonex/Winnipeg)
One place to start is to ask if you have a tow vehicle, and if so, what weight and tongue weight is it rated for?

Also, what is your price range?

The two facts above will "dial in" the choices for most people.

I can't think why any of the ones you mentioned would be harder than the others to handle. Of course many of the larger trailers will have more luxuries, and that means more systems, which means either knowing how to take care of them yourself or hiring others to do so. There is more comfort but also more potential for things to malfunction.

You have to be relatively quick, but there are definitely used Scamps and Casitas out there.

Raya
Raya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:06 PM   #3

Registry