Why so many scams discussion - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2018, 01:38 PM   #1

Name: corvetteguy
Trailer: Casita
Virginia
Why so many scams discussion

I am a newbie and just started shopping for a Scamp or Casita. It is so shocking to me to find so many craigslist scams. Really.... who would spend thousands of dollars without walking in the trailer. Also, the reason for selling seems to be the death of a spouse.
garyhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 02:05 PM   #2

Name: JD
Trailer: Scamp 16 Modified (BIGLY)
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyhall View Post
I am a newbie and just started shopping for a Scamp or Casita. It is so shocking to me to find so many craigslist scams. Really.... who would spend thousands of dollars without walking in the trailer. Also, the reason for selling seems to be the death of a spouse.
Reposting overseas, divorce, etc.
redbarron55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 03:00 PM   #3

Name: Dale
Trailer: 2010 EggCamper; 2002 Highlander 3.0L; 2017 Escape 21'; 2016 F-150 5.0L Fx4
Colorado
Could simply be that demand exceeds supply. I guess some vulnerable victims get a little too desperate in their search for a rare find and try to lock it in before someone else sees it and grabs it. Perhaps too trusting of the general goodness of mankind, too. Makes them an easy target for scammers, and the Internet is a perfect platform for running such scams. A perfect storm, of sorts....
War Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 03:30 PM   #4

Name: Shelby
Trailer: Casita SD
Tennessee
I doubt they expect anyone to fall for the scam to the point they part with money. I expect once someone replies and the scammer gets a live email and/or phone #, they have what they hoped for.
ShelbyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 04:18 PM   #5

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe