Yet another towing question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2007, 03:41 PM   #1

Trailer: 1982 13 ft Scamp
Newbie here; I haven’t bought anything yet…I’m still in the data gathering stage. I have a Subaru Baja with a towing capacity of 2400 lbs (with brakes), but the only hitch I can find that fits is a Class I with a capacity of 2000 lbs. I’ve read some past posts on the difference between hitch classes and got the impression that hitch class doesn’t matter as much, just as long as you’re well within the towing capacity (I was planning on keeping my future setup under 1700 lbs all inclusive)…then again, I noticed that I’ve never heard anyone mention that they have a Class I hitch; seems like y’all either have a II or even III. Should I just simply rule out a class I altogether? If so, is there any advice on locating a Class II for a 2003 Baja?
Greg Yother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 04:05 PM   #2

Trailer: Trails West Campster 1970
Registry
I had U-Haul install my hitch but I think they also sell them. Check with them. They were half the price of anyone else I contacted.

Bobbie
Bobbie Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 04:07 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Gina had a Class I hitch on her Element when she towed the 13' Burro.

I think the biggest drawback to a Class I, is the lack of accessories for it....bicycle carriers, etc.

U-Haul, by far installs more hitches than anyone...have you checked with them?

Looks like Bobbie and I were typing at the same time

BTW: Welcome to FiberglassRV Greg
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2007, 04:12 PM   #4

Trailer: 1976 Trillium 13 ft
Quote:
(I was planning on keeping my future setup under 1700 lbs all inclusive)…then again, I noticed that I’ve never heard anyone mention that they have a Class I hitch;