Another newbie looking for info - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2007, 12:54 PM   #1

Trailer: 2006 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe
Hello all - I have been reading all the helpful posts & decided to join this great group. I'm starting to look for my perfect egg and will be picking the brains of all you experienced folks for help. Right now I'm thinking of either a 17' Casita Spirit Deluxe or an Escape 17'. Anyone have any strong ideas either way? Reliability, comfort? Other things I haven't thought of?
Thanks in advance
Connie B
ConnieB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 01:21 PM   #2

Trailer: Trails West Campster 1970
Registry
Welcome, Connie.

I have no experience with either but I'll tell you what I'd do if I had the choice of one or the other. I'd imagine going through daily activities, thinking about the floor plan and amenities, and see which fit my lifestyle better. If there were no strong reasons to prefer one over another, then availability would probably be the deciding factor.

You also don't say if you are looking for used or new, and how old. This may make a difference.

Bobbie
Bobbie Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 03:16 PM   #3

Trailer: 2008 Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe / 1997 Toyota 4Runner LTD (Draw-Tite WDH
Hi, Connie,

Among the things you may want to consider are the interior height. Casita's 17' SD just allows my 6'2" husband to stand up straight when he is barefoot. The Escape, however, has a maximum interior height under 6'. It was the primary reason we didn't choose the Escape.

Another consideration, for us, was the manufacturer's location. We initially investigated the Escape because it is so much closer to where we live (northern California). If all other things are equal, you may want to compare the pick-up/delivery costs, as these add to the price.