Best way to remove old sealant on roof around fans and vents - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2020, 08:08 PM   #1

Name: Martin
Trailer: Bigfoot
British Columbia
Best way to remove old sealant on roof around fans and vents

Hello, I am new to owning a fiberglass trailer and camper trailers in general in fact. I have just purchased a 1984 Bigfoot B17 and was wondering the best way to remove the old sealant around the fan and vents on the roof of my trailer. The existing stuff is dried out and starting to crack. I have looked on these forums and there is a lot of info about how to reseal things... Butyl tape and dicor lap sealant seem to be the consensus but not to many specifics about how to safely and adequately remove the old sealant. It looks quite hard and like it is not going to come off easily. Is there a good solvent or cleaning agent that does the trick? Plus probably a good putty knife or something of the like?
Thank you in advance Martin....
Marty_3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 10:34 PM   #2

Name: Mike
Trailer: Escape 21 & Jeep GC 5.7 (Previous 2012 Casita FD17 & 2010 Audi Q5)
Puget Sound, WA
Registry
I'm not sure what the appropriate chemicals to soften these materials might be. I once used mineral spirits paint thinner instead of pitch and sap remover on a car, and it degraded the paint. So, choose carefully.

I expect someone will post a better reply concerning the solvents you might use. Personally, I'd start with water and/or hot water; it's the "universal solvent".

A Hyde five-in-one painters tool might be useful, but as they are made of metal you'd have to be very careful to avoid damaging the fiberglass. There are also various plastic scrapers available that help with the job while posing less risk to the fiberglass.

Civilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 03:40 AM   #3
Raz