Casita Exterior Care Tips? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-06-2023, 03:22 PM   #1

Name: Jacob
Trailer: Casita
California
Casita Exterior Care Tips?

Hi everyone,

I'm working on a 2004 Casita single-axle trailer that needs some love. I'm new to this and have never owned nor cared for a fiberglass trailer before.

The exterior clear-coat seems to be worn off (it was powerwashed at one point) and it has lots of dirt and grime on it. Some areas are still shiny while others are dull white. I was thinking of warm soap and water, then Zep stripper (mixed with water) if needed, and then some clear coating on top like Stern to Bow. What do you all think of these? Any recommendations for the best detergents, clear coats, etc? Is waxing necessary? I know some people like to use boat wax.

For the interior, there's some mold on the plastic parts. I was thinking that Clorox bleach would do the trick. How does that sound?

Thanks all for your input.
baytrois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2023, 08:46 PM   #2

Name: Paul
Trailer: '04 Scamp 19D, TV:Tacoma 3.5L 4door, SB
Colorado
The gel coat on my Scamp used to dust off, after a rain it was washing down in streaks and rubbed off on my fingers. Simply bad. Many people here recommended Meguiar's Ultimate Liquid Wax - Pure Synthetic Polymer. I did not do the best job of applying it, but it looks pretty good from ten feet away, and most importantly, it has completely stopped the dusting and streaking. I started applying it on the roof, where I could practice and then did the sides. It is still good after two seasons. I would definitely recommend it.
Paul O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2023, 09:16 PM   #3

Trailer: Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel